Sausagey leftovers

Monday evening I cooked roasted sausages and vegetables with mashed potato.

I had three cooked sausages left over.

What was I going to do with them?

Call it snobbish/stuck-up of me if you like, but I decided that sausage sandwiches was just too boring – I’ve done that before and I wanted to create something more adventurous with my leftovers!

I took the sausages …

… and a good selection of veggies: onion, garlic, leek and carrot …

… and added a good dose of apple cider, which made the pan bubble into a foam!

After adding beef stock and simmering for a while, I stirred in whole grain  mustard and tomato puree until I had a yummy gravy …

While my filling had been bubbling happily away on the hob, I had rubbed butter into flour and salt, added water and kneaded to a just-combined dough and chilled …

… I thoroughly enjoyed the rolling process (as I always do! 🙂 ) …

… and ended up with a pastry-lined pie dish!! And yes, I am wearing purple catering gloves! 😉 I have bad dermo-something skin on my hands, which makes them itchy, raw and cracked, so with food like chillies and onions, raw meat or anything with salt or lots of juice in, I wear gloves so I can at least cook without having hands burning and painful from contact with the food!! 🙂

I ladled the sausage, vegetable and gravy filling into my dish, sealed a pastry lid over the top, sprinkled with herbs and grated cheese and popped it in the oven for 40 minutes.

My amazing, kind and generous Mother-In-Law brought us a massive grocery shop when she came to visit us a few weeks ago … this included a big bag of red potatoes … which last night I turned into potato wedges!

They turned out a lovely satisfying brown and crispy texture – yum!!

accompanied by some fresh vegetables …

… I served L up with this crispy, golden, leftover sausage pie!!

Yup, satisfied with my adventurous journey into Leftovers Land! 😉

3 thoughts on “Sausagey leftovers

    • Aw, thanks! I do love making pastry, but I’ve never been brave enough to make flakey or puff pastry … my Grandma makes the best pastry and she doesn’t even use scales!! She puts the ingredients in by eye and it turns our perfectly every time!! Wowsers!! I’m hopinh at some point the pastry-gennes will emerge … ?!? 😉

Leave a Reply

