Cupcake crazy!!

If you had stepped into my kitchen on Friday afternoon you would have found me elbow-deep in clouds of icing, splatters of cupcake batter, daubs of melted butter, dustings of flour, drops of vanilla flavouring, spoons covered in chocolate icing …

If you had stepped into my kitchen on Friday afternoon you would have found me making cupcakes!! 🙂

My mission? Apart from enjoying baking something yummy, that is!! 😉 … to bake and decorate thirty cupcakes for a friend’s wedding! What better reason could there be for a baking day?!? 🙂

I’ve never been able to accomplish a large-scale baking episode without a mess to remember … I wasn’t exaggerating when I talked about spoons covered in chocolate icing, daubs of melted butter and dustings of flour … 😛

I haven’t used an electric whisk to make a cake in about three years … mostly because I didn’t have one, then because I’d got so used to not having one that I always forgot that now I did have one!! 😛 As I was making a triple quantity of cake mixture, didn’t fancy beating that mountain of batter by hand and this time remembered there was an un-used electric mixer collecting dust in my cupboard … out came the mixer and my arms sang alleluia! Or at least, they would have done if arms could sing … mine haven’t mastered that skill yet!! 😉

I’d forgotten how much I love seeing the swirls the mixer makes in the batter …

… and how glossy, light and silky the cake mix is when it’s ready to pour into the cases … wonderful!

I’d bought these cute little cupcake cases to use especially for the occasion and was kinda like a kid with them … I couldn’t wait to break open the packet get them filled with gooey chocolate mix!! 😛

Because of the quantities used in the recipe I was using, I ended up with 40 of these little beauties, rather than the 30 needed …

… oh well, who’s going to complain about a few extra cakes to go around?!? 😉

Having use my one big bowl for the cake mixture (which was baked in batches, so not empty for ages! 🙂 ), the bowls I had left to make the icing in were not big enough to use the electric mixer in … trust me, I tried … I barely managed to control the icing-sugar-explosion that threatened to bury my counter-top under a sticky mess … maybe not such a great plan!! 😉

So it was back to the wooden spoon and aching arms we went … whoop whoop!! 😦

As a result, the frosting was not as light and fluffy as my baking-pride would have liked, but hopefully these cute little strawberry hearts made up for it … ?!?

Let’s say it did!! 😉

T and A are the first names of the groom and the bride, so I was quite pleased with the all-chocolate version …

… although I would have gagged at the first bite with all that sweetness … let’s hope there were enough sugar-devoties out there to appreciate them!! 😛 I’m not selling my baking very well, am I ?!? 😉

The third and last flavour of frosting is my favourite!! Not only is it so simple to make, 😀 it is the best to eat!! 😉

Cream cheese frosting … yumtastic!! Of course, it’s best on top of dense, moist carrot cake, but hey, if it comes on top of chocolate cupcakes, do you expect me to say no?!? 😛

This was also my favourite decoration …

… not surprising as sprinkles have everything to do with lots of colour, right?!? 😉

What is your favourite kind of cupcake?!

One thought on “Cupcake crazy!!

  1. I like strawberry! I can fully identify with your mess. Had one on my hands last Saturday when I made choke cherry jelly. The sugar and stickiness seems to linger for days no matter how much you wash the counters.

Leave a Reply

