A family weekend of fun – take 2!

On Saturday my Mum-in-Law, L, KY and I went for a walk and a picnic … we drove down country lanes … we parked on the side of the road … we walked down mud and grass tracks … we explored inside the woodland … we sat and ate yummy food in the sunshine … we had fun! 🙂

And I got to indulge one of my passions …

… and take lots …

… and lots …

… of photos!! 😀 I was a happy bunny! 😛

There were hundreds of these bright red, cheerful poppies lining the edges of the fields – don’t they just make you want to smile?!? 🙂

Then there were the trees …

… the breath-taking views …

… beautiful butterflies (yes, I do have a bit of a thing about butterflies! 😉 ) …

… oh yes, and the lovely people I was with!! KY was slightly aghast that I was snapping her with her mouth full :P, and L was pointing out how dower the lady on the front of the crisp packet looked … yup, I have a family full of character and originality!! 😉

KY went delving through the bushes into the seemingly impenetrable trees and, after a while of hearing her crashing around in the undergrowth, we launches in to the adventure from another spot … and found this little clearing!

There was lots of spreading bracken … some of which came up as high as my ribs! Just imagine what a giant plant that must seem to a little kid!! 😛

The light filtered and shone through the trees, leave, branches above my head …

It was a lovely, peaceful afternoon …

… full of fun and silliness …

… family and food …

… and the amazing  and awe-inspiring beauty of our surroundings! 🙂

What are some of the beautiful things you have seen this week?

2 thoughts on “A family weekend of fun – take 2!

  1. I love the pictures of the cottages! We have nothing like that here in our part of the world. So neat! I have to say the most beautiful things this summer have been the clouds. They have been so unusual this season. I have been snapping pics of them since June!

    • Yay! I’m glad you liked the pictures! 🙂 I guess that old cottages and buildings are something we Brits take for granted too much. I lived in the US for a year and remember feeling a little hole in my life at the lack of 600+ year old buildings …. kind of like Americans coming here and experencing a “scorching heatwave” of 22C/72F – where’s the heat?!? Maybe I shoul do a post of old cottage pictures, especially for my American readers …
      Clouds are AWESOME!! You should share some of your photos on your blog …

Leave a Reply

