Random happenings

I have a sparkly, shiny, white, pristine bathroom! Thanks to an attack I launched on it this afternoon … yes, it definitely resembled an attack: I put on my Marigolds (the chemicals play havoc with my skin if I don’t wear gloves!), took my bottle of bathroom spray and Demestos toilet cleaner, three big disposable Jay Cloths and my antiseptic floor wipes … oh yes, and a long accumilated dose of confused frustration …

About an hour and a half of vigorous scrubbing, spraying, rubbing, rinsing, wiping, brushing and scouring, I had one sparkly clean bathroom, one aching back, two over-tired arms and two sore legs … !!

But you know what?! The shower I then took in my deliciously clean tub was so very satisfying!

Does anyone else clean the bathroom in their pyjamas?!

I can’t get past the idea that bathrooms are essentially a dirty place … so I have to change my clothes after cleaning it, because now they’re dirty too right? So because I don’t want to spoil any of my clothes with the chemicals, I always clean the bathroom in my pjs and put them straight in the dirty laundry basked – then jump in the shower and get the rest of me clean! 🙂

The other day I had the most satisfying shopping experience …

… I got all of this reduced goodness … for £7! Yeah baby!!

I do love my bargains! 😛

There is a wonderful place on the other side of my city that has big plastic bins of loose grains, pulses, dried fruit, nuts, yogurt or chocolate covered dried fruit, cereal, flour, oats … you name it! You use these scoops to get a bag of how much you want, take it to the counter and they weigh it for you … so much fun!! 🙂 It smells amazing in that shop and you really have to keep a check on yourself, otherwise you’ll end up walking out of there with a bag of practically everything – no joke!! 😉

I love this shop! I don’t go there very often, as it’s a bit of a trek from my house, but it’s well worth a visit every now again and nicely rounded out my satisfying grocery shopping!! 🙂

Guess what was waiting for me when I got home?!?

A hungry husband?

Yes, but the hungry husband had been on a secret mission …

… and bought me this gorgeous bunch of flowers!!

He knew that I’d had a hard week and he knew what would bring a happy smile to my face … that evening and for days to come, every time I saw or thought about his flowers!

He was right – they brought a massive smile to my face and still do every time I see their wonderful colours! 🙂

It was the perfect start to our date night …

… which involved brie …

… steak and peppercorn sauce, thanks to a wonderful Mother-in-Law (the fresh tomatoes and all that salad makes it healthy, right?! 😉 ) …

… scrummy strawberry cheesecake ice-cream …

… and a delicious and much appreciated bottle of red wine – yes, it was reduced and yes, it did have a cork top!! 😛

Using up left-overs efficiently in delicious ways is another source of great satisfaction to me … when I can achieve it! 😉

This Asian-style beef (aka: left-over stake) and noodle salad was awarded L’s seal of approval! Success!! 😛

So was that post random enough for you?!? 😉

What is the thing from your week that has cheered you up the most?!

2 thoughts on “Random happenings

Leave a Reply

