I’m posting a girly-picture?!?

As many of you know, I am not, I repeat: NOT, a girly-girl. In fact, I have gone to great lengths to prove this point. Some would definitely say ridiculous lengths … and yes, the strong unlikelihood of me being able to resist an opportunity to prove my non-girlyness has got me in a sticky point a number of times … and no, I don’t care to share all of those stories with the whole world, or maybe more particularly, not with my friends who read my blog!! Although in reality, an uncomfortable number of those friends have probably witnessed some of those let-the-ground-open moments!! ๐Ÿ˜€

You can't really see it's me and you can't see my hair, but this is me at about 17, maybe 18 ... can't remember ๐Ÿ™‚

Before I left my family’s home, I wore long skirts, flowery fabric, had long (ie, waist-length) hair, was demure and quietly spoken, watched what my hubby calls “girl-films”, got embarrassed if I thought I’d been talking to a boy too much and listened to classical or worship music.

As my family attended my church for a little while, this was the way that the people who are now my friends first got to know me. Little did they know that that long pink-and-flowery skirt (sorry, no offence, especially to my lovely sisters who will be reading this, but as they already know, I’m just not a fan of pink! Maybe it started when my older sister J and I accidentally painted our room bright candy pink … ๐Ÿ˜› ) hid a dedicated tom-boy.

As I journeyed toward my current jean-trainer-hoody-wearing (for ultimate comfort – in reality I often where “nice” tops! ๐Ÿ™‚ ), Matalica-and-Iron-Maiden-listening, curry-and-beer-consuming, competitive-Risk-and-Poker-playing, not-often-too-quiet-voiced, anything-but-demure and more-often-hang-out-with-boys-than-girls self , I had to fight against a lot of incredulity and more than a lot of teasing! Granted, I spent at least one, if not two meals a week and increasingly more , with L and his housemates (we weren’t going out at this point, I was just good friends with the whole house) and anyone who has lived (or semi-lived!) there knows that L and his old friend E are just about the biggest teasers in history … in the best and kindest of ways, of course!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Once L and E found out that when they said “girls never …”, I would immediately do exactly that thing … oh, did they have a fun time!! One time, when I was round on a Saturday morning for a fry-up, they were cooking black pudding and, when asked what it was, they said, “oh, you won’t want that! It’s black pudding and girls NEVER eat black pudding!” Any guesses what I ate for breakfast that morning?! ๐Ÿ˜›

Of course, part of all this is that I love having fun and I hate squishing who I am just to fit in with other people’s’ expectations or stereotypes of who they think I should be – something I am extremely blessed to share with L! ๐Ÿ™‚ A good example of this is our wedding: I walked down the aisle to Shambles, by Rueben, the songs played during the signing of the register were Blitzkrieg, also by Rueben and I Will Be Here, by Steven Curtis Chapman and then at the end of the ceremony, L and I walked out to Everlong, by The Foo Fighters! Yup, not your typical choice of wedding songs! However, we didn’t just do it to be fun and different, each of these songs meant a lot to both of us personally, in our relationship – it just so happened they are also not traditional aisle-walking music! ๐Ÿ™‚

Maybe the real difference for me, is that many of my attitudes and ideas are not “typically” girly… or maybe just that I like watching boy-films much better than girl-films …!! With some inconsistent exceptions of course! ๐Ÿ˜€

Maybe I am just way more analytical than is good for me – and before you squish me, I know that loads of girls are analytical – this is a largely media-created stereotype here, but I still gotta fight it, k?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Maybe it’s because when boys burp and fart I either don’t notice or join in with the group-rating of its loudness/smelliness/effect, etc. Sorry if this candid bluntness causes some of you to wince, but hey, we all do it, so what’s to be ashamed of?!?

Maybe it’s because I hardly ever go clothes shopping and dread it when the day comes that I need a new pair of jeans – shudder!

Maybe it’s because growing up, instead of playing to be a princess waiting to be rescued, I was the prince on the white charger ….

Maybe it’s because when my sisters and I wrote and acted our own plays, I was always the bady, with the pretend-gruesome-mustache and the evil laugh that scared my youngest sister, sometimes to tears!! Sorry Lady G! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Maybe it’s because my house is filled with bright (absolutely NO pastel allowed!) colours, lots of dots, pictures of Space and nature and cool stormy-seas, clean lines,ย  murder/detective books, films like The Wire and Momento, and Warhammer models, in various stages of being painted, jostle on the shelves alongside my Gruffalopencil tin, books

I love the Gruffalo books! ๐Ÿ™‚

and my drawing supplies …

Maybe it’s because although I do enjoy wearing make-up from time to time, I just cannot be bothered to put it on and take it off every day, to say nothing of what my poor old skin would say to that …!! ๐Ÿ˜›

Maybe it’s because I just do not go in for the whole bunny-bows-puppies-lace-kittens-pink-fluffy thing … if you want to know, I collect things with cows on (as well as the dots!), but that’s a whole other story … ๐Ÿ˜€

Maybe it’s because although I like dressing to look smart and don’t like the idea of being shabby or sloppy, my usual clothes-of-choice always starts with jeans and a nice top or shirt, topped with a little cardigan and I still have a fondness for hoodies – the ultimate comfort clothes! ๐Ÿ™‚ I do wear some fun skirts and I own three dresses (one of which is my going-to weddings outfit, complete with dainty black heels and a cute little handbag!), but these are reserved for slightly more special occasions, like eating out or date night!

Maybe it’s because I don’t do pretty, nice and soft, but colourful, fun and wonderful …

Or maybe it’s just because I’m me and I won’t have anyone trying to crush me into their perceptions and stereotypes!! Go be your own stereotype if you want one! ๐Ÿ˜€

Hmm, maybe I should say at this point that I have absolutely no problem whatsoever with other girls being into any of the above mentioned things! If that’s cool with you it’s cool with me and there is no way I would judge any of you, all I’m saying is that don’t presume I am too, just because of my gender!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Phew, so there was more to say on this subject then I thought there was … and I’ve come rather a long way from the original point of this post … so you know what? I’m going to post this as it is ad post the lovely picture I wanted to post another time – oh, what am I like?!? ๐Ÿ˜€

One thought on “I’m posting a girly-picture?!?

  1. Pingback: After all that preamble … « frommyfrontstep

Leave a Reply

