On muffins and procrastinating …

I really did intend to bake muffins yesterday … it’s just that I had a lot of studying to do too … and it’s amazing how attractive housework can seem when you have something else you’re meant to be doing … but to start with the muffins …

I love baking of all kinds and baking muffins is a particular hobby of mine – unsuprisingly one that my husband, L, supports enthusiastically! 🙂 Most of the time I use my dearly loved muffin cookbook, which has many different muffin recipes in it – lots of which I still haven’t tested.

I love this book!

I tend to fall back on the tried and tested fravourites – Lemon, Summer Fruit, White Chocolate, Apple Spice, Carrot – and although I have baked a number of other kinds, and some which I have re-invented for myself, these are the ones I always return to and the ones which the main muffin-consumer likes the best! 🙂 Cocoa Courgette (Zuchini) muffins have never been attempted (yuk!) and Butterscotch Crunch have been baked and got a thumbs-down. For Christmas my mother-in-law gave me a cookery book called “The Humingbird Bakery Cookbook”, which is full of beautiful pictures and yummy-sounding recipes – I’m looking forward to trying some of these out!

This time I went for Lemon muffins, as I haven’t baked those in a while. I love the coming together of the dry and wet ingredients and seeing them bind together into a batter.

Hmm, ok, so maybe it doesn’t look so attractive right now!
Filling up the muffin cases
When I was little I used to send ages staring in through the oven door whenever my Mum was cooking or baking!
Making the frosting to go on top
Mmmmm, I love the look and smell of freshly-baked muffins!
I love how glace icing looks so glossy!
And finally the finished product – which made for a very happy husband when he got home last night!

Hmm, now I’ve baked the muffins, which I really HAD to do anyway … ok, so some studying …

... oh, I really should put some laundry in ...

… study, study, must study …

... oh, the floors all need sweeping ...

… now, to get back to my studying …

... and then fold the dry laundry - now there is a sight that brings joy to my heart! 🙂

… just a little more studying …

... time to scrub the bathroom ... and wash the floor ...

… then have a shower … take the glass recycling to the recycling place … grocery shop for the weekend … and then L gets home!! I really DID get a good amount of studying done, inbetween all the housework that “desperately” needed doing!! 🙂 The house smelt wonderfully clean and I had the windows open while I swept, for the first time this year, so it felt wonderfully spring-like!

"Why are you taking a photo of me doing the washing up?!"

The perfect end to the day was my husband singing funny songs while he did the washing up and I cooked supper. Every Friday evening is what we call “Date Night”, which is the evening during the week where we don’t go to see friends and don’t have any friends over – it’s time just for the two us, where we get to eat out or have yummy food at home, enjoy a bottle of wine together and do whatever we like to enjoy each other’s comany. Which last night meant sitting on the sofa relaxing and having a hug, while listening to music and sipping our wine! It was a wonderfully relaxing evening and one of those times when you wish you could make time stand still for a little while. Ahh! 🙂

nomm, nomm, nomm!!

 

5 thoughts on “On muffins and procrastinating …

    • Yay! 🙂 I hoped people would enjoy it! I hope I’m not going to turn into ones of those house-proud-in-a-bad-way people!! Judging from the state of the bedroom, I think that’s unlikely to happen though! 😛

  1. Have you tried Marmalade muffins? Not sure if L would like them but they are a definite favourite here … we had chocolate muffins this weekend – yummy!! 🙂 Butterscotch Crunch mufffins sound lovely – why were they given a thumbs-down?? (But well done on giving the cocoa courgette ones a miss, they sound horrible!!!)

    I can’t believe L actually let you take a picture of him eating!! :-b

    xxxx

    • Ooh, could I have the recipe for the marmalade muffins please?! Those would definitely be worth trying out, and if I make them just before a games night, there will be enough hungry boys for it not to matter if L doesn’t like them!! 😛 I think the comment on the butterscotch ones was “too dry”! They smelled so yummy though!! Yummy, I love chocolate muffins! I haven’t made any in ages, because L, as the main muffin-consumer, doesn’t like chocolate cakey things 😦 I did make some white chocolate brownies yesterday though, and they have met with approval!
      Thank you for commenting dearest! 😀
      xxxx

  2. L doesn’t like chocolate cake things?! We’ll have to remember *not* to serve him up with them when you come round … 🙂 Of course you can have the recipe for Marmalade Muffins; I’ll let you have it over the ‘phone, in case it takes up too much room! xxx

Leave a Reply

