Vegetables, glorious, colourful vegetables!

This afternoon I went along to our local just-round-the-corner green grocers to pick up some cucumbers.

I guess I should make a confession about now. I’m an addict. Yup, that’s right, I’m addicted – to cucumbers!! I eat between 1-2 a day and on rare occasions I get through, cough cough, 3!!! :/ I’m kind of wierd, I know, but hey, they have no badness in them and a make a good healthy snack and anyway, I could be snacking on far more unhealthy food, right?!?. So when I spot a bargain price on cucumbers, I dive right in there – today I grabbed 4, just to last me ’till Friday or Saturday … :)

The stacks and stacks of brightly coloured fruits and vegetables looked so gorgeous and irresistable that I just had to take some photos!!! :P

It almost makes you want to pick one up and eat it like an apple, doesn’t ti?! :D

I wonder why it is that potatoes which are still covered in their natural mud look so much more appealing and healthy?

So beautifully red!

Fresh nectarines – yum!!

Love this colour green!

I.Love.Cherries!!

My hubby’s favourite dessert at the moment is cherry pie! :)

“I could just do with a big, juicy strawberry. Martin used to bring me strawberries.”

Anyone recognize that quote?!

Aren’t these little apricots so cute?!?

These watermelons are MAHOOSIVE!!! For England, anyway!! :P

After admiring all those fresh vegetables and fruits, I felt inspired to make a truly delicious salad!

Lettice, cucumber (I had to really, didn’t I?!), tomato, pepper, radish, raw mushrooms, cheese, chicken, walnuts, pumpkin and sunflower seeds, topped of with a dash of olive oil and balsamic vinegar and a generous grinding of black pepper.

YUM!!!

Crispy, fresh, crunchy and completely tasty salad!!

Big sigh of contentment! :)

What is your favourite kind of salad? Have you tried out any new ingredients recently?

4 thoughts on “Vegetables, glorious, colourful vegetables!

    • Oooh, that sounds decidedly yum!! I might well have to give this a go soon … I like your swap of rice noodles instead of rice – I LOVE noodles!! :) And peppers- they feature a LOT in our diet! :D

  1. I. Love. Cherries. Too!!!!! :) And I love cucumbers too… although not as much as you. Ha, ha. As for a new ingredient, I just bought an eggplant for the first time!! Haven’t made it yet though…

    • Lol That’s funny – I’ve been thinking about eggpalnts (or aubergines as we call them over here! ;) ) recently! I want to try and add them to our diet, so do please share what you do with this new ingredient!! :) Mmm, cherries are SO good!! :D

Leave a Reply

